Flag Folding Ceremony

The flag folding ceremony represents the same religious principles on 
which our country was originally founded. The portion of the flag 
denoting honor is the canton of blue containing the stars representing 
the states our veterans served in uniform. The canton field of blue 
dresses from left to right and is inverted when draped as a pall on a 
casket of a veteran who has served our country in uniform.

In the Armed Forces of the United States, at the ceremony of retreat 
the flag is lowered, folded in a triangle fold and kept under watch 
throughout the night as a tribute to our nation's honored dead. The 
next morning it is brought out and, at the ceremony or reveille, run 
aloft as a symbol of our belief in the resureection of the body.

1. The first fold of our flag is a symbol of life.

2. The second fold is made in honor and rememberance of the veteran 
departing our ranks who gave a portion of life for the defense of our 
country to attain a peace throughout the world.

3. The third fold represents our weaker nature, for as American 
citizens trusting in God, it is to Him we turn in times of peace as 
well as in times of war for His divine guidance.

4. The fourth fold is a tribute to our country, for in the words of 
Stephan Decatur, "Our country, in dealing with other countries, may 
she always be right; but it is still our country, right or wrong.

5. The fifth fold is where our hearts lie. It is with our heart that 
we pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States, of America, and 
tothe republic for which it stands, one nation, under God, 
indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

6. The sixth fold is a tribute to our Armed Forces, for it is through 
the Armed Forces that we protect our country and our flag against all 
her enemies, whether they be found within or without the boundaries of 
our republic.

7. The seventh fold is a tribute to the one who entered into the 
valley of the shadow of death, that we might see the light of day, and 
to honor mother, for whom it flies on mother's day.

8. The eighth fold is a tribute to womanhood: for it has been through 
their faith, love loyalty, and devotion that the character of the men 
and women who have made this country great have been molded.

9. The ninth fold is a tribute to father, for he too, has given his 
sons and daughters for the defense of our country since they were 
first born.

10. The tenth fold, inthe eyes of a Hebrew citizen, represents the 
lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon, and 
glorifies, in their eyes, the God of Abraham, Issac, and Jacob.

11. The eleventh fold, in the eyes of a Christian citizen, represent 
an emblem of eternity and glorifies in theie eyes, God the Father, the 
Son and Holy Ghost

When the flag is completey folded, the stars are uppermost, reminding 
us of our national motto, "In God we Trust."