Stan's Recent Reviews

See video
08/12/2012 - 11:42pm

Have you ever been deemed expendable?  I have.  I had worked for a radio station in the Panhandle of Florida for three years when the station was sold.  The new owners had plans to increase the station’s power and move it to new, more modern studios.  I was very excited at the prospect of actually having some resources that we couldn’t afford under the previous ownership.  Then I heard a rumor that the new bosses planned on letting me and the rest of the staff go and replace us with a satellite format that only required a few people to keep it running.

See video
08/05/2012 - 9:08pm

There are a few memories I’d love to have banished from my brain.  One in particular causes me a fair amount of guilt when it pops up from time to time.  It involves a young woman I dated briefly in high school.  On our first date, we kissed for several minutes in the front seat of my car as we sat in the driveway of her home.  I got caught up in the moment and, even though I wasn’t really very attracted to her, I did enjoy the kissing and the attention she paid to me.  We went out a few more times after that but each time I felt more and more trapped.

See video
07/22/2012 - 5:31pm

(Due to illness, I will not be reviewing a new movie this week. I'll modify the movie poll to reflect this change. I hope to be back to normal soon. Sorry and thanks.)

See video
07/15/2012 - 10:27pm

It’s no secret that I’m a Star Trek fan from way back.  I was lucky enough to travel to Las Vegas and go through Star Trek:  The Experience which featured numerous costumes and props from all the series and movies along with an interactive ride that put you on the bridge of the starship Enterprise.  I took three trips to Las Vegas and went to Star Trek:  The Experience every time.

See video
See video
07/08/2012 - 10:39pm

The Amazing Spider-Man

See video
See video
07/01/2012 - 12:47pm
Ted

What makes a best friend?  I’ve had a few in my life and there really wasn’t anything that similar between them.  We just managed to click and complement each other’s personality.  I shared some similar interests with them; but there were just as many if not more things we didn’t have in common.  It is an unfortunate fact that it is a rare combination of similar and dissimilar personality traits that makes a best friend and that mixture is difficult to find especially as we get older.

See video
06/24/2012 - 7:52pm

There’s a show on the History Channel about people who believe the discoveries and achievements of ancient civilizations could only have happened with the help of intelligent aliens from outer space.  I happen to believe there are planets in the Milky Way galaxy and throughout the Universe that harbor intelligent life.  I just don’t believe we’ve ever been visited by any.  The fervor of the beliefs expressed on the show pushes me in the exact opposite direction.

See video
06/17/2012 - 10:21pm

Have you poured out a bowl of your favorite cereal, got the milk from the fridge, poured the milk over your cereal and taken a big bite only to discover the milk had gone bad?  That’s an unpleasant surprise.  Have you gone out on a date, eaten dinner at a nice restaurant, had a perfectly nice evening then when you’re ready to leave you discover your car has a flat tire?  That’s an unpleasant surprise.

See video
06/11/2012 - 12:14am

What is your opinion of high school reunions?  Some people love to catch up with old friends and relive their glory days as the football star or head cheerleader.  Others view it as a painful reminder of being the outcast, bullied, or worse, ignored kid who suffered through those years and never wants to think about them again.  Most of us are somewhere in the middle.

See video
06/03/2012 - 1:30am

Often in movies, we see a child being lulled to sleep by a parent reading a fairy tale from a book.  I don’t know about you, but my parents weren’t the bedtime story type.  All my exposure to fairy tales was either via books I read myself or in cartoons.  Most of these were morality tales about telling the truth and the consequences of lying, loyalty in the face of adversity, the benefits of hard work and the power of love.  None of these tales were, to me, terribly scary.