Stan's Recent Reviews

See video
See video
07/01/2012 - 11:47am
Ted

What makes a best friend?  I’ve had a few in my life and there really wasn’t anything that similar between them.  We just managed to click and complement each other’s personality.  I shared some similar interests with them; but there were just as many if not more things we didn’t have in common.  It is an unfortunate fact that it is a rare combination of similar and dissimilar personality traits that makes a best friend and that mixture is difficult to find especially as we get older.

See video
06/24/2012 - 6:52pm

There’s a show on the History Channel about people who believe the discoveries and achievements of ancient civilizations could only have happened with the help of intelligent aliens from outer space.  I happen to believe there are planets in the Milky Way galaxy and throughout the Universe that harbor intelligent life.  I just don’t believe we’ve ever been visited by any.  The fervor of the beliefs expressed on the show pushes me in the exact opposite direction.

See video
06/17/2012 - 9:21pm

Have you poured out a bowl of your favorite cereal, got the milk from the fridge, poured the milk over your cereal and taken a big bite only to discover the milk had gone bad?  That’s an unpleasant surprise.  Have you gone out on a date, eaten dinner at a nice restaurant, had a perfectly nice evening then when you’re ready to leave you discover your car has a flat tire?  That’s an unpleasant surprise.

See video
06/10/2012 - 11:14pm

What is your opinion of high school reunions?  Some people love to catch up with old friends and relive their glory days as the football star or head cheerleader.  Others view it as a painful reminder of being the outcast, bullied, or worse, ignored kid who suffered through those years and never wants to think about them again.  Most of us are somewhere in the middle.

See video
06/03/2012 - 12:30am

Often in movies, we see a child being lulled to sleep by a parent reading a fairy tale from a book.  I don’t know about you, but my parents weren’t the bedtime story type.  All my exposure to fairy tales was either via books I read myself or in cartoons.  Most of these were morality tales about telling the truth and the consequences of lying, loyalty in the face of adversity, the benefits of hard work and the power of love.  None of these tales were, to me, terribly scary.

See video
05/28/2012 - 9:28pm
See video
05/20/2012 - 9:08pm

"Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.”  These are the words of British politician and historian Sir John Dahlberg-Acton from a letter written in 1887 about the Catholic Church doctrine of papal infallibility.  It has often been quoted (and misquoted) about the effect unbridled power sometimes has on those who are in control of others.

See video
05/13/2012 - 12:36am

Is there a TV show, cartoon or movie you watched and loved as a child then saw it years later as an adult and wondered what you ever thought was good about it?  I was probably too old to be watching the Saturday morning cartoon show “The Superfriends” when it was on the air, but having Superman, Batman and Robin, Wonder Woman and Aquaman all together on TV just made my brain explode.

See video
05/06/2012 - 1:54pm

“There’s no ‘I’ in team” is an overworked sports analogy that crossed over into the everyday world thanks to TV and movies.  It’s supposed to mean that one member of an organization is no more important than the whole group.  Human nature tends to contradict that axiom as each of us has an ego that leads us to think we are somehow above the others in our group.  Most of us keep that in check but there are those who let their self-importance run amuck.

See video
04/29/2012 - 10:55pm

Edgar Allan Poe (John Cusack) is reviled by most people who know him.  He’s an abusive drunk who considers his work greater than any other authors.  Struggling with his own writing, Poe turns to critiquing other for the local Baltimore newspaper in exchange for money.  Poe latest review of a Longfellow poem gets bumped for coverage of a grizzly double murder of a mother and her young daughter.  Inspector Emmit Fields (Luke Evans) realizes while looking over the scene that it reminds him of a story written by Poe.