Stan's Recent Reviews

See video
11/08/2010 - 1:25am

Is it nature or nurture that decides the kind of person we are?  There are perfectly valid arguments on both sides of the debate and no one really knows for sure.  There is statistical evidence that people who are physically and emotionally abused as children are as adults more likely to be abusive to their children.  Of course, there are people who never experienced any kind of abuse in their formative years who are cruel and evil people as adults.  The question remains:  Is it how you are treated or your brain chemistry that decides your course in life?  And

See video
10/31/2010 - 8:55pm

Some folks take on way too many projects, jobs and tasks for their own good.  For instance, my wife has a full-time job, records books for the blind and dyslexic, volunteers at hospice, sings with two community choruses and is the chapter mother for her college fraternity.  I’m not sure how she does it all and, sometimes, she doesn’t either; however, she never lets her responsibilities overwhelm her.  While the pressures and frustrations of being a teenager may pale in comparison to being an adult, it doesn’t feel that way to the teen.  When we grow up,

See video
10/24/2010 - 1:32am

As a child, I always loved Halloween.  It was the one time of year I was allowed to eat candy with complete abandon.  It was also fun to pick out my costume from the nearby discount store.  Would I be a spaceman or a cowboy or a cartoon character?  The choice was nearly overwhelming.  I was always accompanied on my treat-gathering mission by a parent, usually my mom.  When I was about 10, I was allowed to go out on my own.  I felt like such a grownup, walking through my neighborhood after dark …dressed as an astronaut.  I was nearly back to my

See video
10/17/2010 - 11:08pm

Have you ever done anything that, in retrospect, was completely stupid? One of my earliest memories is pulling a chair up to our kitchen stove, standing on it and touching the pretty, red spiral on the top. Of course, what I got from this was burned fingers and the knowledge that touching a stove eye when it was on was a bad idea. A few years later, I decided to see what would happen if I touched the prongs of an electrical plug while it was still in the socket. It took just one shock for me to understand this was also a bad idea.

See video
10/14/2010 - 9:59am
Stan the Movie Man is on vacation but promises another great review by Monday. Check out some classic Stan the Movie Man review's and just rent a DVD this weekend.
See video
10/03/2010 - 2:12pm

How desperate would you have to be to steal something that didn’t belong to you?  I’m not talking about something physical; I mean an idea.  If you needed a terrific presentation to give at a staff meeting and overheard a discussion in your office of someone else’s plan, would you take it, change a few things and present it as your own?  Since it’s merely an idea and you bring your own spin to it, flesh it out and make it unique, how wrong can it be?  If that idea is Facebook, as it is in this week’s movie “The Social Network,” i

See video
09/25/2010 - 9:55pm

The old saying “You can’t go home again” is probably the most ignored bit of wisdom in Hollywood as it relates to sequels.  There have been five Superman movies, six Batman films, six episodes of Star Wars, four Resident Evil flicks, three Godfathers and the granddaddy of them all, James Bond, with 22 official films.  Not all sequels are a good idea.  For instance, “Halloween III:  Season of the Witch” couldn’t be considered a shining moment.  If “Book of Shadows:  Blair Witch II” had never been made, I think the

See video
09/19/2010 - 12:54am

We’ve all heard stories about people who have worked at one job, or one type of job, for decades who suddenly decide to do something else.  I don’t think I have that kind of courage to give up a steady job in an industry I know to follow a new path or passion; however, I must say I admire the nerve of those who do.  There are, of course, those who made the wrong choice of a career all those years ago and realize their error, but circumstances keep them from making a move.  In extreme cases, those circumstances are threats of death against themselves and their love

See video
09/12/2010 - 12:09am

It doesn’t have to be Halloween for people to wear masks. I’m not talking about the kind of mask you buy at the party store; this mask is the one we forge from our experiences and wear to hide who we really are. Some people wear a mask of promiscuity to hide how lonely and afraid they are. Some wear the mask of a joker to cover up how sad and hurt they’ve been. There are those who wear a mask that is blank in an effort to fade into the background and go unnoticed by those they encounter.

See video
09/03/2010 - 11:55pm

My mother wouldn’t leave the house to go to the grocery store or run other errands without having cleaned up, put on makeup and wearing what she considered to be appropriate clothing. A visit to any Walmart will quickly show not everyone shares her view that you should always go into public looking clean and properly attired. While perfection wasn’t her goal, she did take pride in her appearance. Many movie makers are much the same way.