Stan's Recent Reviews

See video
09/15/2012 - 8:26pm

Alice (Milla Jovovich) is once again in the clutches of the Umbrella Corporation.  Her former friend and ally Jill Valentine (Sienna Guillory) is under Umbrella’s control thanks to a device attached to her chest.  Jill is head of security and questions Alice for the artificial intelligence that now runs what’s left of Umbrella, the Red Queen.

See video
09/09/2012 - 9:53pm

Drug dealer Chris Smith (Emile Hirsch) has a big problem:  His mother stole some cocaine from him and he owes his drug supplier, Digger Soames (Marc Macauley) $6,000 he doesn’t have.  Digger will kill him if he doesn’t pay.  He comes up with a plan to kill his mother and collect her $50,000 life insurance policy that will go to his sister Dottie (Juno Temple).  Not wanting to take a chance on getting caught, Chris contacts Dallas police detective Joe Cooper (Matthew McConaughey) who moonlights as a contract killer.

See video
09/02/2012 - 5:04pm

The Bondurant brothers, Howard, Forrest and Jack (Jason Clarke, Tom Hardy and Shia LaBeouf), run moonshine through the hills of Virginia in the early 1930’s.  The trio is a tight-knit family who are left alone by the local sheriff thanks to a couple of cases of their best brew each week.  A local politician brings in Special Deputy Charlie Rakes (Guy Pearce) from Chicago to aid in shaking down all the moonshiners in the area.  If they pay a monthly protection fee, they will be allowed to operate freely.

See video
08/26/2012 - 5:24pm

Wilee (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) is a recent law school graduate who thinks wearing a suit and sitting in an office is a form of torture.  He hasn’t taken the bar exam yet and makes a living as a bike messenger in New York City.  His ex-girlfriend Vanessa (Dania Ramirez) broke up with him after he didn’t attend her college graduation because he forgot it which makes working together at the delivery service a bit complicated.  Add to the mix a rivalry between Wilee and another bike messenger Manny (Wole Parks) who also has eyes for Vanessa.

See video
08/19/2012 - 11:58pm

Some people are born with a gift.  Maybe it’s the ability to figure out complex equations and solve the mysteries of the Universe.  I didn’t get that one.  Others are great at tearing apart and repairing car engines or other mechanical devices.  I didn’t get that one either.  For most of us, we are just kind of average.  While we might wish we had some unique talent or heightened ability to do something out of the ordinary, most of us simply are middling, typical run-of-the-mill folks.

See video
08/12/2012 - 11:42pm

Have you ever been deemed expendable?  I have.  I had worked for a radio station in the Panhandle of Florida for three years when the station was sold.  The new owners had plans to increase the station’s power and move it to new, more modern studios.  I was very excited at the prospect of actually having some resources that we couldn’t afford under the previous ownership.  Then I heard a rumor that the new bosses planned on letting me and the rest of the staff go and replace us with a satellite format that only required a few people to keep it running.

See video
08/05/2012 - 9:08pm

There are a few memories I’d love to have banished from my brain.  One in particular causes me a fair amount of guilt when it pops up from time to time.  It involves a young woman I dated briefly in high school.  On our first date, we kissed for several minutes in the front seat of my car as we sat in the driveway of her home.  I got caught up in the moment and, even though I wasn’t really very attracted to her, I did enjoy the kissing and the attention she paid to me.  We went out a few more times after that but each time I felt more and more trapped.

See video
07/22/2012 - 5:31pm

(Due to illness, I will not be reviewing a new movie this week. I'll modify the movie poll to reflect this change. I hope to be back to normal soon. Sorry and thanks.)

See video
07/15/2012 - 10:27pm

It’s no secret that I’m a Star Trek fan from way back.  I was lucky enough to travel to Las Vegas and go through Star Trek:  The Experience which featured numerous costumes and props from all the series and movies along with an interactive ride that put you on the bridge of the starship Enterprise.  I took three trips to Las Vegas and went to Star Trek:  The Experience every time.

See video
See video
07/08/2012 - 10:39pm

The Amazing Spider-Man